My First Detox

Fall is here – a perfect time to detox!

I admit it. I was a detox virgin up to last week. So, I finally took the plunge and joined a client in a mini-fall detox offered through my nutrition school, the Institute for Integrative Nutrition.

This detox is simple to follow and lasts over three days. I definitely think it’s a good detox to begin with if you are a detox novice and the idea of a 14-day or 21-day detox seems overwhelming. You just have to be prepared to buy all the foods in advance (I would recommend this to make the process simpler), clear out time in your schedule and organize your household and life around it a little. The detox requires that you eliminate caffeine, alcohol, meat, wheat, dairy and sugar but the great thing is you don’t fast and don’t just drink juices – you can still eat a variety of wonderful, healthful foods during the three days. The menu plan was useful and gave me lots of ideas for recipes and ways of eating. I also learned a lot about what are the optimum foods are to eat during a detox.

Okay, so I did miss my morning cup of PG Tips and a little chocolate break in the afternoon but overall I felt great – no more brain fog, more energy, clearer skin and my jeans fit a little better! After three days, I did feel that I had cleansed my system and am definitely ready for a longer detox in the future. I saw a lot of benefits but feel that a longer term detox would actually make me change a lot more eating habits and reduce cravings for good. My client also enjoyed the detox process. She felt quite headachy and nauseous on Day 3, but that is all part of the process of flushing toxins from your body. She also wants to commit to a longer detox in the new year, which is great news. It was fun to buddy up with someone and support each other.

My tips for detoxing:

  • Choose your detox wisely. Don’t do a detox that forces you to fast for long periods of time or drink only juice. That’s not a healthy way to detox. There are so many amazing foods that you can still eat which will cleanse your body.
  • Be prepared to detox. Buy the right food for the meal plans, organize your schedule and know that you will have to go three days without some of your favorite foods or beverages. That’s right – no morning coffee, cupcakes or wine for three days!
  • Be committed to detox. It does take some willpower and work to eliminate so much from your diet. Have a support team to see you through it. Detox with your partner or a friend – it’s more fun that way!

Here’s my favorite recipe from the detox – a great warming vegetable soup for these blustery fall days. This makes a large amount of soup, so invite your friends over to share or freeze some to eat later. If you want to change the stock to chicken, that’s fine but if you are detoxing – stick with vegetable for now. For added crunchiness, why not add roasted pumpkin seeds (toss with a little olive oil and salt in a pan and roast in oven)

Roasted Fall Vegetable Soup

5 carrots, cut into cubes
2 parsnips, cut into cubes
1 sweet potato, cut into cubes
1 small butternut squash, cut into cubes
1 small cauliflower, cut into florets
6-8 cups vegetable stock
good glug of olive oil
salt and pepper

Method:

  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Place all cut up vegetables on a baking sheet, drizzled in olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper.
  • Bake for 40 minutes or until soft.
  • Blend stock and vegetables in a food processor or hand held blender until smooth.
  • Place the soup in a pot on low heat and add more stock until you reach desired consistency.

{Detox Info} Winter squash is rich in fiber which aids digestion and heart health and high in beta-carotene and vitamin C.

Leave a Reply

